Author Topic: I understand the rule book says Cruz didn't fumble, but...  (Read 3194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

LoyalNiner

  • Sophomore
  • *
  • Posts: 677
What's the difference between that play and when a receiver makes a diving catch, makes no effort to advance, and drops the ball thinking the play is over?

The NFL rule book states: "Official shall declare ball dead ... when runner declares himself down by falling to ground or kneeling & making no effort to advance."

So both should not be fumbles but the second situation is always called a fumble.


hootie

  • Assistant Coach
  • ***
  • Posts: 4597
Reply #1 on: October 03, 2011, 12:23:23 pm
The difference is intent
Quote
[UNC-CH] is a turd floating in the punch bowl. - Gregg Doyel 9/7/10


X-49er

  • Head Coach
  • ****
  • Posts: 6729
  • Connoisseur of all things Niner
Reply #2 on: October 03, 2011, 12:32:35 pm
Intent indeed.  Cruz had already advanced after catching the ball and fell down to end the play.  In your example, the receiver hasn't yet shown to give himself up.
 
However, I think this rule will be clarified so that this doesn't happen again.  Tony Dungy stated last night on FNinA that if the player dives head first then the play is supposed to be allowed to continue until the player is touched down.  If the player is "giving himself up" to dicscontinue to play, then Dungy said that they are taught to slide feet first.  If the players know this, then there should be no confusion about if the players is "giving himself up" and the officials won't blow the play dead if they dive head first.
I hope you will support who we are, not who we are not. - Coach Norman Dale in Hoosiers



LoyalNiner

  • Sophomore
  • *
  • Posts: 677
Reply #3 on: October 03, 2011, 01:58:55 pm
Intent is tricky and should never be a part of rules in sports. The only reason Cruz thought he was down is because he thought someone touched him. And the rule doesn't say you have to purposefully go to the ground and fail to advance, you just have to go to the ground.


hootie

  • Assistant Coach
  • ***
  • Posts: 4597
Reply #4 on: October 03, 2011, 03:10:33 pm
dude, intent is a huge part of most rule books in lots of sports.  Can't be taken out
Quote
[UNC-CH] is a turd floating in the punch bowl. - Gregg Doyel 9/7/10


stonecoldken

  • Chancellor
  • ******
  • Posts: 12934
Reply #5 on: October 03, 2011, 03:38:12 pm
Cards got screwed no matter what the NFL says.
It's NOT your right to stop running before you're tackled.  You're paid to do your all for the team, not take a dive. 
Cards ball, Cards win, but Nfl Refs suck like last year when Lions got jobbed vs. Bears.
CHP sold out.  I declare Nick McEntyre our Chancellor-In-Exile!

JFelt quote about CHP.  "Stake your claim.  As long as UNC-CH doesn't want it first."

Taylor Swift, Jewel, Katy Perry, SE Cupp, Jennifer Garner, Gwen Stefani, Jessica Alba, & Eva Mendes are my Baby Mama's.


X-49er

  • Head Coach
  • ****
  • Posts: 6729
  • Connoisseur of all things Niner
Reply #6 on: October 03, 2011, 03:45:15 pm
Cards got screwed no matter what the NFL says.
It's NOT your right to stop running before you're tackled.  You're paid to do your all for the team, not take a dive. 
Cards ball, Cards win, but Nfl Refs suck like last year when Lions got jobbed vs. Bears.

Tell that to every player that slides or runs out of bounds.
 
The rule just needs to be modified for clarity.  If you dive, you're not "down" until you're touched or out of bounds.  If you slide feet first, the play is dead.  Pretty simple.
I hope you will support who we are, not who we are not. - Coach Norman Dale in Hoosiers



stonecoldken

  • Chancellor
  • ******
  • Posts: 12934
Reply #7 on: October 03, 2011, 05:23:02 pm
x, sliding or running out of bounds is the same as tackled.
CHP sold out.  I declare Nick McEntyre our Chancellor-In-Exile!

JFelt quote about CHP.  "Stake your claim.  As long as UNC-CH doesn't want it first."

Taylor Swift, Jewel, Katy Perry, SE Cupp, Jennifer Garner, Gwen Stefani, Jessica Alba, & Eva Mendes are my Baby Mama's.


Mullins Maniac

  • Sophomore
  • *
  • Posts: 848
Reply #8 on: October 03, 2011, 05:54:56 pm
Cards got screwed no matter what the NFL says.
It's NOT your right to stop running before you're tackled.  You're paid to do your all for the team, not take a dive. 
Cards ball, Cards win, but Nfl Refs suck like last year when Lions got jobbed vs. Bears.
I didnt realize that not only did the refs rule he did not fumble the ball but also rewarded him a TD. I swear the Cards had a chance to stop the Giants or at least hold them to a FG.
"When you don't know what you're doing, it's best to do it quickly." - Jase Robertson


X-49er

  • Head Coach
  • ****
  • Posts: 6729
  • Connoisseur of all things Niner
Reply #9 on: October 03, 2011, 05:56:44 pm
x, sliding or running out of bounds is the same as tackled.

So is diving if the ref rules the play dead.   ;)
I hope you will support who we are, not who we are not. - Coach Norman Dale in Hoosiers



stonecoldken

  • Chancellor
  • ******
  • Posts: 12934
Reply #10 on: October 03, 2011, 06:21:47 pm
Mullins once you get cheated, the next play you're not thinking you're best, thus the TD.
CHP sold out.  I declare Nick McEntyre our Chancellor-In-Exile!

JFelt quote about CHP.  "Stake your claim.  As long as UNC-CH doesn't want it first."

Taylor Swift, Jewel, Katy Perry, SE Cupp, Jennifer Garner, Gwen Stefani, Jessica Alba, & Eva Mendes are my Baby Mama's.


jwmann2

  • Walk On
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • FromThisSeat.com
Reply #11 on: December 08, 2011, 12:42:41 am
That rule is ridiculous. Take for example the Jermaine Gresham touchdown three weeks ago in Baltimore and Calvin Johnson's touchdown last year in Chicago. Those were touchdowns.


 

* Charlotte 49ers News

* State of Charlotte

* Videos